Pitchfork is reporting the new Danger Mouse produced Black Keys album, Attack & Release, will be released April 1st on Nonesuch Records. This is the Akron duo’s first album recorded in a proper studio, and it also features contributions from guitarist Marc Ribot, multi-instrumentalist Ralph Carney (Patrick’s uncle), as well as vocals from Jessica Lee Mayfield on the closing number. Since I’ve yet to hear any of the new studio material, I can’t comment on what the long rumored Danger Mouse/Black Keys collab sounds like. Instead, I’ll have to rely on P4K, who assures us that he largely lets The Keys do their thing with only a few embellishments here and there.

Attack & Release Tracklist:

1 All You Ever Wanted
2 I Got Mine
3 Strange Times
4 Psychotic Girl
5 Lies
6 Remember When (Side A)
7 Remember When (Side B)
8 Same Old Thing
9 So He Won’t Break
10 Oceans & Streams
11 Things Ain’t Like They Used to Be

Also of note, The Black Keys will be appearing at this year’s SXSW conference and have lined up a series of national tour dates to coincide with the release of their fifth studio album. As of today, no local dates have been announced.

The Black Keys
The Black Keys Myspace
Nonesuch Records